NYAMA Announces Distinguished Selection Committee and Ceremony Date For 2014 Marketing Hall of Fame® Program

Celebrating brilliance in marketing,
three inductees to be announced in late March, NYC induction ceremony set for May 28

NEW YORK, February 27, 2014 – The American Marketing Association, NY Chapter (NYAMA) will hold the 2014 induction ceremony for its Marketing Hall of Fame® on Wednesday, May 28 at the offices of JWT New York.  The organization also revealed its distinguished selection committee, whose members represent many of the industry’s leading associations and organizations.

The Marketing Hall of Fame (www.marketinghalloffame.org) was created by NYAMA to celebrate brilliance in marketing across all fields and industries.  The program is dedicated to recognizing individuals who are making outstanding contributions to the field, and educating and inspiring a new generation of marketers.  The annual honor is open to any current practitioner from the corporate, agency or academic worlds with a minimum of 10 years experience who is responsible for marketing innovations that have had dramatic impact on business results, and raised marketing’s profile in business overall.

Staring with an open call-for-entries last summer, more than 100 individuals representing all areas of marketing were nominated.  The 17-member Marketing Hall of Fame committee, chaired by Joanna Seddon, president, Global Brand Consulting at OgilvyRED, identified the 40 highest-qualified nominees.  This short list was sent to more than 800 NYAMA members and other marketing experts, whose votes determined the top 12 finalists.  A distinguished selection committee made up of executives representing the industry’s leading associations and organizations picked this year’s three inductees, who will be announced in late March.

This year’s stellar selection committee consisted of David W. Almy, CEO, Marketing Research Association (MRA); Gayle Fuguitt, CEO, Advertising Research Foundation (ARF); Nancy Hill, CEO, 4As; Bob Liodice, CEO, Association of National Advertisers (ANA); Kendall Nash, president, Qualitative Research Consultants Association; Bruce Nelson, former vice chair, Omnicom, and Earl Taylor, CMO, Marketing Science Institute.  The selection committee was coordinated by Don Sexton, NYAMA president-elect and professor of marketing, Columbia University.

“This year’s nominees represented an extraordinarily impressive cross-section of influential marketers, and the finalists were all well-renowned for their outstanding contributors to the field,” said Randall Ringer, NYAMA president and CEO, Verse Group LLC.  “We looked to the collective wisdom of our selection committee, who had the very difficult challenge of picking only three inductees from such an remarkable group.  The contributions of this year’s three inductees are shaping the ways we practice marketing today and inspiring the marketers of the future.  The Marketing Hall of Fame is all about celebrating brilliance, and we are thrilled to celebrate these brilliant individuals.”

The Marketing Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 28, 2014, 6:00-9:00 pm at the offices of JWT New York, 466 Lexington Avenue at 45th St.  The evening will include cocktails followed by presentations from each of this year’s three inductees.  By providing an overview of their careers and most notable successes, each inductee will offer attendees a rare first-person account of key learnings that helped them attain this honored recognition.  To buy tickets for the induction ceremony, please visit http://nyama.org/event/marketing-hall-of-fame-ceremony/.

Marketing Hall of Fame sponsors include JWT and Columbia Business School.  Other sponsorship opportunities are available, please contact Mandy McMaster at NYAMA, amcmaster@nyama.org, 212-687-3280.

The Marketing Hall of Fame Committee is chaired by Joanna Seddon, president, Global Brand Consulting, OgilvyRED, and includes Randall Ringer, NYAMA president and CEO, Verse Group LLC; Robert Kahn, founder, Kahn Consulting, Inc.; Elizabeth Kiehner, founding partner, Thornberg & Forester; Don Sexton, NYAMA president-elect and professor of marketing, Columbia University; Lee Hornick, president, Business Communications Worldwide; Lukas Pospichal, managing director, GreenBook and NYAMA; Ajay Durani, marketing and events consultant, Digital Place-based Advertising Association; Mandy McMaster, program coordinator, NYAMA and others.

The mission of the New York American Marketing Association (NYAMA, www.nyama.org is to inspire, support and celebrate brilliance in marketing.  Founded in 1931, the NYAMA is the principal community for marketing professionals across all industries and disciplines in the New York area.  Offering programs, monthly events, and interaction with the chapter through volunteer activities, we provide marketers with an opportunity to increase their knowledge and reach in the marketing community.

# # #

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram